Dr. Raymond L. Gause, whose former guardian is Mrs. Dick Blann of Cheyenne, is a member of the organization that has played a major roll in the Apollo 11 lunar landing mission. He is chief of engineering physics branch in the National Aeronautics and Space Administrations Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama. Dr. Gause, a graduate of Cheyenne High School, received his B.S. degree from Southwestern State College in Weatherford and a Ph.D in 1967 from Oklahoma State University.

Joe Bill, 12-year-old son of Mr. & Mrs. Joe Frank Moad of Cheyenne was among the winners in the Kid Rodeo held in Hobart last weekend. Joe Bill placed 1st in Bull Ridign and 3rd in Flag Racing. This qualifies Joe Bill to compete in the National Finals Kid Rodeo in Littleton, Colorado. Other Roger Mills County kids competing were – Vicki Wilson, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Eddie Wilson of Crawford; Sherri & Genia Chappell, daughters of Mrs. & Mrs. Donnie Chappell of Durham; Mike Grant, son of Mr. & Mrs. Johnny Grant, Cheyenne; Charla McCoy, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. C.E. McCoy, Jr. of Reydon and De Ann Garver, daughter of Mr. & Ms. Andrew Garver of Reydon. Vickie Wilson was 3rd in Barrell Racing and 3rd in average, which qualified her for nationals. Sherri Chappell placed 3rd in Barrell Racing the last night and 3rd in the average in Pole Bending, which qualifies her for Nationals. Genia Chappell was 3rd in Goat Tail Tying and DeAnn Garver was 1st in Goat Tail Tying.

Roger Mills County will have five boys attend the annual 4-H Cotton Science short course at Quartz Mountain Lodge. They are Roy LeGrand, Harold Thurman, & Nicky Smith of Reydon, Curtis Castle and Gary Keahey of Crawford and John Butcher of Cheyenne.

Members graduating from the Cheyenne High School in 1955 & 1956 traveled an average of 350 miles to attend the first reunion of these classes. Presiding were Donald Blanton and Donald Daugherty. Mr. O.H. Ellis, high school principal gave the invocation and Mrs. Raymond Gause extend the greeting. Present from the Class of 1955 were: Jerry Beavin, Donald Blanton, Jimmy Calvert, Rogna Crane Kirby, Anita Morris Blanton, Pat Musick Nichols, Billie Pasby, and Shirley Shotwell.

Class of 1956 members answering roll call were: Billie Archer Hunt, Janelle Baxter Gause, Roberta Batchelor Bonds, Betty Bradley Laston, Jeannean Burns Blanton, Donald Daugherty, Roger Dean, Darlene Hunt Drinnon, Given Jencks Pasby, Shirley Martin Allen, Melva Summers Hunt, Vonnie Hunt Robinson, Mary Lou Trammell Beatty, “Just for Fun” Awards were made to: Derral Hunt, a toy horse for traveling the greatest distance. Mary Lou Trammell Beatty, a tiny rocking chair, for having the most children. Vonnie Robinson a miniature bride and groom for being married the smallest number of years. Donald Daugherty received a baby bottle as having the youngest child. Janelle Baxter Gause received a special lady’s award and Jimmy Calvert a hairbrush for the bald-headed man.

Mr. Frank Lucas, of Crawford, underwent an appendectomy operation Sunday evening and is convalescing at the Cheyenne Hospital. Frank is the 9-year-old son of Mr. & Mrs. Ike Lucas and grandson of Mr. & Mrs. Fred Aderholt.

Mrs. Donna Eakins has sold her beauty shop to Mrs. Viola White. Viola is still in beauty school in Clinton and Mrs. Teddie Hartley is now operating the shop.

The Cheyenne Star July 17, 1969